My little DIY project

I frequent this store, Japan Home Centre, which carry a lot of Japanese products. I tend to purchase those items which are pretty nifty. I usually find unique items there. This time I found some small wooden wall furniture and I decided to purchase one and give it some personal touch.

wall-furniture

 

After purchasing, I stopped by at a bookstore nearby and looked for some paint I can use on it. As the selection was very limited, I decided to get a multi-purpose white paint. I was hoping to put some vintage vibe to it.

I needed a brush, screwdriver and white paint for this project. I needed to remove the the hooks at the back after that I painted away. I started with a thin layer but decided to keep layering.

Tip: Use a good brush. The brush I used is awful. It was the only one that was available at home and it was too late when it dawned on me that I should have invested in a good one. The bristles were too hard and as I was painting, it was destroying the layer I’ve made. Well experience is the best teacher and when you do something on a whim, you just learn along the way. ^_^’

painted-wall-furniture-photopainted-wall-furniture-photo-2

After the paint has dried, I’ve put back the screws.

painted-wall-furniture-back-part

There are a lot of ways you can use this cute wall furniture. I’ve included some photos below of some ideas I had in mind.

painted-wall-furniture-arrangement-idea-1

Okay maybe it’s not vintage at all but I tried. haha. It wasn’t a neat job either but I enjoyed doing this.

painted-wall-furniture-arrangement-idea-2

The miniature easel and the decorative coaster featured in the photo can be bought at Papemelroti.

 

painted-wall-furniture-arrangement-idea-3

The miniature Buddhas are souvenirs I bought in Cambodia.

 

Now all that’s left to do is hang this on the wall.

Like what you’ve read? Do check out “My little DIY project 2.”

One thought on “My little DIY project

  1. Pingback: My little DIY project 2 | A Drop of Life

Leave a Reply

